Posted by: msbuttercup | January 19, 2009

Hello from a snowy Illinois!

Can’t seem to keep myself on the right track to come on here and blog like I should. I guess it’s safe to say my life is pretty boring.

  I’ve been trying to add some things to our pantry. And learning some new skills in the process. I have been making candles, laundry soap and I made what is called a tonic. Yeah it’s supposed to help with chest colds.  The candle I made was  poured into a mold. But I want to learn to make dipped candles.  I have a frame ready I just haven’t had the gumption to do it yet.

  Mike is laid off for a little while so we are hoping to get some things done around the farm and ready for spring before he goes back to work. Chances are he will be gone during the week and only home on weekends.

 Today is January 19th. Tomorow is the swearing in of our new President. I keep praying that things will transition smoothly and that this turns into a good thing.

 We recieved our real first snow fall of the winter last night. And my children have been out ice skating on the pond, because although we have had no snow we’ve had plenty of cold temps!

 Tonight I have a chicken and rice casserole cooking in the oven. Last night we had split pea soup and cornbread.

  Lately I seem to be tired. I think it’s probably cabin fever, the winter blahs. whatever you want to call it. Just find that I have no energy.

 I hope you all had a great Christmas. Take care for now.

          Dawn


Leave a comment

Categories